Mexican Slow Cooked Pork Carnitas

465329_686056485718_695948963_oSo, while Husband is deployed I’ve been determined to utilize this time to diversify my repertoire of recipes. We love Mexican food, so I decided to branch out and try this carnitas recipe. I got a little overzealous and decided to make my own adobo seasoning and my own salsa. I like mixing my own seasonings so that I can avoid all of the extra junk they like to put in the store bought versions like maltodextrin, monosodium glutamate, and a whole host of other stuff that doesn’t need to be there. I used Traci’s Adobo Seasoning recipe and had everything I needed already in my kitchen. The homemade salsa was not my finest hour- too much tomato and not enough lime juice- lesson learned. The carnitas were quite tasty though. Full disclosure- I’m a baby about things being too spicy, so I skipped the chipotle peppers in adobe sauce- just the smell of them made my nose burn. If you like it hot, go for it- if not, this recipe does just fine without them.

Ingredients:

  • 2.5 lb pork shoulder blade roast, lean, all fat removed
  • 6 cloves garlic, cut into sliver
  • cumin
  • dry adobo seasoning
  • garlic powder
  • 3/4 cup 99% fat free chicken broth
  • 2-3 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce (to taste)
  • 2 bay leaves

Directions:

1. Season pork with salt and pepper. In a medium sauté pan on medium-high heat, brown pork on all sides for about 10 minutes. Remove from heat and allow to cool.

2. Using a sharp knife, insert blade into pork, cutting small holes and insert garlic slivers. Season pork generously with cumin, adobo and garlic powder all over.

3. Pour chicken broth in the crockpot, add bay leaves and chipotle peppers. Place pork in crock pot and cover. Cook low for 8 hours. After 8 hours, shred pork using two forks and combine well with the juices that accumulated at the bottom. Remove bay leaves and adjust salt and cumin (you will probably need to add more). Let it cook another 15-30 minutes.

Leave a Reply

